Colorado State Patrol is Putting the Brakes on Speeding

Hide Featured Image

(COLO) – One of the most common traffic infractions motorists commit is driving above the posted speed limit. Despite signs sending drivers reminders along each roadway, motorists push past the limits often with little concern and a lot of misconceptions.

A common theory by the motoring public is that driving a few miles faster than the respective speed limit is okay because the belief is that law enforcement abides by the “9 your fine, 10 your mine” benchmark. But, the reality is one mile over the posted limit is breaking the law.

“While it would be impossible for troopers to pull over every single motorist violating the speed limit, drivers can and do receive tickets for going between 1- 9 miles over,” stated Col. Matthew C. Packard, chief of the Colorado State Patrol. “When speed hurts a passenger, pedestrian, animal or other motorist, can you really say it was acceptable?”

According to 2023 fatal and injury data for crashes investigated by Colorado State Troopers, speeding was the top causal factor. Troopers were called to investigate over 2,830 fatal and injury crashes last year, with approximately 23% caused by speeding.

“Whatever reason you may have to speed doesn’t justify breaking a law set in place to keep the community safe,” stated Col. Matthew C. Packard, chief of the Colorado State Patrol. “These speeds are set after considering factors such as road design, visibility and potential hazards. Following the speed limit reduces the likelihood of crashes.”

Under Colorado law, a violation of driving 1 to 24 mph over the posted speed limit is a Class A traffic infraction. If a driver is pulled over for going 1 to 4 mph over the reasonable or maximum lawful speed, the fine is $30 plus a $6 surcharge. For someone caught going 5 to 9 mph over the limit, a $70 fine plus a $10 surcharge is handed out. The fine for a driver traveling 10 to 19 mph over the maximum limit in Colorado is $135 with a $16 surcharge.

Troopers continue to take a low-tolerance approach to the top fatal crash factors, including lane violations, impaired driving and speeding, while launching a yearlong campaign called “Drive Safe.” This campaign celebrates positive driving behaviors and encourages all of us to drive like a trooper is riding with you.


Since our origin in 1935, the Colorado State Patrol (CSP) has focused on preserving human life and protecting property within our communities. Our 1,100 members embody the core values of Honor, Duty, and Respect in their daily jobs.  In addition to our expertise in motor vehicle safety on the state’s roadways, the CSP is responsible for the Governor and other dignitaries’ protection, commercial motor vehicle enforcement, hazardous materials, homeland security, communications, investigative services, criminal interdiction, community education, aviation operations, and more.