Colorado - Aggressive driving can cost a motorist thousands of dollars with deductibles, fines and medical bills, and the Colorado State Patrol is urging drivers to be aware and drive safely while on Colorado roadways.
According to the Insurance Information Institute, the average claim for bodily injury after a collision was $20,235.00 in 2020 while the average property damage claim was $4,711.00. Crashes generally cost more than the minimum limits. In addition, according to AAA, insurance rates go up by an average of 24% after an accident.
“When you drive aggressively, it can cost a person a lot of money, especially those without premium insurance," said Sgt. Troy Kessler, Public Information Officer for the Colorado State Patrol. “We want people to be aware and understand the cost, but more importantly the danger you put yourself and other motorists in if you drive aggressively.”
In 2022, Colorado State Patrol emergency dispatchers answered 57,899 total *CSP calls with 54% (31,760) related to road rage or aggressive driving. Aggressive driving reports through *CSP were up approximately 4.5% over 2021 (30, 347 road rage reports in 2021). Preliminary data suggests that approximately 25% of the fatal and injury crashes CSP investigated in January 2023 were due to excessive speed.
While there are many behaviors that indicate aggressive driving or a road rage situation, some of the most notable behaviors include:
- Honking in anger
- Making angry gestures
- Passing on the right
- Showing a weapon
- Excessive Speeding
- Weaving in and out of traffic
- Getting out of the vehicle to confront another driver
“We want people to understand that aggressive driving can at the very least be expensive, but can also be deadly, “ said Kessler. “It’s just not worth the risk.”
Troopers continue to take a low tolerance approach to lane violations while launching a yearlong campaign called “Stay in Your Lane.” This campaign is designed to remind people to control their lane position based on their current driving environment. This campaign also aims to bring attention to three of the most common and avoidable behaviors that contribute to lane violations – driving aggressively, driving distracted or driving while impaired.
ABOUT THE COLORADO STATE PATROL
Since our origin in 1935, the Colorado State Patrol (CSP) has focused on preserving human life and protecting property within our communities. Our 1,100 members embody the core values of Honor, Duty, and Respect in their daily jobs. In addition to our expertise in motor vehicle safety on the state’s roadways, the CSP is responsible for the Governor and other dignitaries’ protection, commercial motor vehicle enforcement, hazardous materials, homeland security, communications, investigative services, criminal interdiction, community education, aviation operations, and more.