While you may have heard of the Slow Down, Move Over law before, it is more imperative now than ever before to pay attention and take this law into consideration EACH time you get behind the wheel.
Earlier this year, Gov. Jared Polis signed into law HB23-1123, requiring drivers to move over a lane whenever they encounter any stationary vehicle on a highway with its hazards flashing — and if you can't move over, you must slow down to at least 20 mph below the posted speed limit. This law came into effect with the goal of saving lives on the roadways especially because 2022 marked the deadliest year on record for Colorado’s roadways.
“With the updated Move Over Law, we are taking a significant stride toward our goal of zero deaths on Colorado roads,” said Matthew C. Packard, chief of the Colorado State Patrol. “Slowing down for disabled vehicles shows respect for every road user, and together, we can create a safer driving environment for everyone.”
While all states have a Move Over law to protect emergency responders, Colorado joins 19 other states that provide protections to all disabled vehicles. With this change, Colorado's Move Over laws are now among the nation's strongest.
The penalty for failing to move over or slow down for a disabled vehicle includes a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, with a possible fine of $150 and a three-point license violation.
No matter when or why you are getting behind the wheel, remember the hundreds of law enforcement officers, fire, EMS, maintenance, tow operators and civilians who may be on the side of the road. The consideration and cooperation of all drivers can often mean the difference between life and death.